Mental Health Task Force (2018)

In April 2018, then-President Michael V. Drake commissioned a Suicide and Mental Health Task Force charged with reviewing the university’s suicide prevention efforts and mental health support, identifying opportunities for improvement and assessing if any best practices may enhance Ohio State’s portfolio of support. The original Task Force was brought together over the summer of 2018 to create the recommendation report. The work of this group was complete upon the submission of the report to President Drake for review and identification of next steps.

Mental health services and resources are available to students through Counseling and Consultation Service (CCS). There are three primary ways to connect with a counselor at CCS, learn more on their website or call 614-292-5766.

If you are thinking of harming yourself and need a safe, non-judgmental place to talk or if you are worried about someone else and need advice about what to do, call the Columbus Suicide Prevention Hotline at 614-221-5445, call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 9-8-8 or 800-273-8255 (TALK), or reach the Crisis Text Line by texting 4HOPE to 741741.